18+ · Gamble responsibly · Gambling Help Online 1800 858 858 · We may earn a commission
The Footy SlipCompare bookies

BOOKIES · CHECKED 29 SEPTEMBER 2026

Six licensed bookies for NRL and AFL, compared on PayID, deposits and withdrawals

Before you back a side at a bookie, it helps to know how your money gets in and out. I read the help pages of Sportsbet, TAB, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 and PointsBet on 29 September 2026 and noted what each says about PayID, the minimum deposit and how long a bank withdrawal takes. Most take a $5 minimum. The table below quotes them, with links to every page under Sources.

The six, side by side

Every cell is what the bookie says about itself, on the page listed under Sources. Where a bookie doesn't state something, the table says so rather than guessing.

BookieLicence, in its own wordsPayIDMin. depositBank withdrawal, as stated
Sportsbet"Licensed and regulated by Australia's Northern Territory Government"Yes, instant$5"Within a few hours" with fast payments; minimum $10
TABNot readable on 29 September 2026Yes, from $2 (not in SA)$1EFT requested before 12 pm AEST on a weekday: generally in your account by the next morning
Ladbrokes"Licensed and regulated by the Northern Territory Wagering Commission"YesNot stated"Within a few hours" with fast payments
Neds"Licensed and regulated by the Northern Territory Wagering Commission"YesNot stated"Within a few hours" with fast payments
bet365"Licensed and regulated by Australia's Northern Territory Government"Yes, $10 to $20,000$5"1-4 Hours"
PointsBet"Licensed and regulated by Australia's Northern Territory Government"Yes, 1 to 5 minutes$5Most "within 30 minutes"; the first one about 6 hours

The $1 at TAB is for a debit card deposit; a PayID deposit there starts at $2. Sportsbet's $5 minimum applies to every deposit method.

What stands out at each one

Sportsbet

Instant deposits by debit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID and PayPal, all from $5; BPAY takes one to three days. Withdrawals start at $10, and a withdrawal to a Sportsbet Cash Card is instant. Sportsbet's help centre covers NRL and AFL markets, same game multis and cash out.

TAB

The only one of the six where you can also deposit and collect cash at a TAB venue, pub or club. PayID isn't offered for South Australian accounts. TAB's help pages cover NRL and AFL, same game multis and cash out; I couldn't read its licence line on 29 September 2026, so I don't quote one.

Ladbrokes and Neds

Two brands of one company, Entain Group, with the same terms and conditions. Both take debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, PayPal and BPAY, and neither help centre states a minimum deposit. Both ask that every deposit be turned over at least once before you withdraw it. Their NRL and AFL prices matched in every market I compared on 29 September 2026, so opening both doesn't widen your choice of odds.

bet365

The most detailed limits of the six: debit card, Apple Pay and Google Pay from $5, PayID from $10 up to $20,000, and PayPal from $50. It aims to process a withdrawal within two hours and quotes one to four hours for it to arrive.

PointsBet

A $5 minimum deposit and a $5 minimum withdrawal. PayID deposits usually land within one to five minutes, the first can take up to 24 hours while your bank checks it, and most bank withdrawals arrive within 30 minutes once your account is fully verified.

What every licensed bookie has to do

Credit cards and digital currency are no longer accepted by licensed Australian bookies; the ban started on 11 June 2024. Every one of them must check BetStop, the national self-exclusion register, and close the account of anyone registered.

Recreational gambling winnings are not taxed in Australia (ATO ruling IT 2655). The exception is someone who gambles as a business, which the ATO treats differently.

What you won't see compared here

Promotions. NSW law bans advertising betting offers designed to get you to open an account or bet more, and it applies to sites like this one as well as to the bookies. I compare what a bookie does with your money: deposits, withdrawals, and the price it pays on the side you want.

On price, the useful comparison is game by game. Use my number from NRL tips or AFL tips, then look at what a bookie pays on the same side. The gap between the two is covered in how betting odds work.

How the button on this site works

None of these bookies pays us anything as at 29 September 2026, so every "compare" button on the site leads to this page. If that changes, the button will name the bookie, this page will say we are paid for it, and the payment will be a fixed fee per new customer, never a share of what anyone loses. Full details are on how we make money.

Questions punters ask

Are these bookies licensed in Australia?
Five of the six name the Northern Territory as their licensing jurisdiction on their own pages. I couldn't read TAB's licence line on 29 September 2026, so I don't state it here yet.
Do licensed bookies still take credit cards?
No. Credit cards are no longer accepted by licensed Australian bookies: the ban started on 11 June 2024 and covers digital currency too. Debit cards, PayID and the other methods in the table are the options.
Which bookie pays out fastest?
On their own words: PointsBet says most bank withdrawals arrive within 30 minutes, bet365 says 1 to 4 hours, and Sportsbet, Ladbrokes and Neds say within a few hours if your bank supports fast payments. TAB processes EFT requests made before 12 pm AEST on weekdays the same day, with funds generally in your account by the next morning.
Are Ladbrokes and Neds the same company?
Yes. Both are brands of Entain Group Pty Ltd and share the same terms and conditions. Their NRL and AFL prices matched in every market I compared on 29 September 2026.
How do I block myself from all of these bookies?
Register with BetStop at betstop.gov.au. It takes about five minutes and covers every licensed Australian online and phone bookie, including all six here.
Illustration: Harrison Yeo, the pen name behind The Footy Slip

Tips, ratings and prices for NRL and AFL

Published · Last checked

What I did for this page: read each bookie's own help pages, terms and footer from an Australian connection on 29 September 2026. Not done yet: TAB's licence line and the Sportsbet and bet365 home pages were closed to my checks, and I haven't opened accounts to time a real withdrawal.

How I tip · Sources for this page · How we make money. A bookie's commission doesn't change my ratings, my prices or the order of bookies.

Read next

Sources

  1. Sportsbet: deposit methods and minimum: helpcentre.sportsbet.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/360000179527, checked 28 September 2026.
  2. Sportsbet: withdrawal methods and minimum: helpcentre.sportsbet.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/115007207867, checked 28 September 2026.
  3. Sportsbet: withdrawal times: helpcentre.sportsbet.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/115009386407, checked 28 September 2026.
  4. Sportsbet: terms and conditions (licence): helpcentre.sportsbet.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/115004802547-Sportsbet-Rules-Terms-Conditions, checked 28 September 2026.
  5. TAB: deposit methods: help.tab.com.au/deposits-withdrawals/making-a-deposit, checked 28 September 2026.
  6. TAB: PayID deposits: help.tab.com.au/deposits-withdrawals/payid-deposits, checked 28 September 2026.
  7. TAB: debit card deposits: help.tab.com.au/deposits-withdrawals/online-debit-card-deposits, checked 28 September 2026.
  8. TAB: withdrawals: help.tab.com.au/deposits-withdrawals/withdrawals-faqs, checked 28 September 2026.
  9. Ladbrokes: home page footer (licence): ladbrokes.com.au/, checked 28 September 2026.
  10. Ladbrokes: depositing: help.ladbrokes.com.au/s/article/Depositing, checked 28 September 2026.
  11. Ladbrokes: withdrawing funds: help.ladbrokes.com.au/s/article/Withdrawing-Funds, checked 28 September 2026.
  12. Neds: home page footer (licence): neds.com.au/, checked 28 September 2026.
  13. Neds: depositing funds: help.neds.com.au/s/article/depositing-funds, checked 28 September 2026.
  14. Neds: withdrawing funds: help.neds.com.au/s/article/withdrawing-funds, checked 28 September 2026.
  15. bet365: about us (licence): help.bet365.com.au/s/en-au-nsw/about-us, checked 28 September 2026.
  16. bet365: deposit methods: help.bet365.com.au/s/en-au-nsw/payments/deposit-methods, checked 28 September 2026.
  17. bet365: withdrawal methods: help.bet365.com.au/s/en-au-nsw/payments/withdrawal-methods, checked 28 September 2026.
  18. PointsBet: home page footer (licence): pointsbet.com.au/, checked 28 September 2026.
  19. PointsBet: help centre (deposits, PayID, withdrawals): support.pointsbet.com.au/hc/en-au, checked 28 September 2026.
  20. ATO Taxation Ruling IT 2655 (gambling wins): ato.gov.au/law/view/pdf/pbr/it2655.pdf, checked 25 September 2026.
  21. BetStop, the national self-exclusion register: betstop.gov.au/, checked 28 September 2026.
  22. ACMA: credit card ban for online wagering: acma.gov.au/credit-ban, checked 28 September 2026.